Laboratory Analytics

Laboranalytik

For defined project requirements the usage of research laboratories or the possibility of proprietary analytics is a necessity for efficient project management and for solving complex issues.

The analytics and interpretation of stable isotopes of the water molecule to characterize and to trace underground flow paths as well as to investigate complex interactions between different components of the water cycle is going to be more and more significant. In an inter-comparison test under IAEA (International Atomic Energy Agency) in 2011 the laboratory of JOANNEUM RESEARCH, now JR-AquaConSol, was the best out of 250 participants for the determination of 18O, a stable isotope.

The existent analytical know-how of JR-AquaConSol comprises a wide portfolio of tailor-made analytical methods to investigate hydrogeological problems, methods for biogeochemical process research and for characterizing water-rock-interactions (e.g. sinter formation, scalings). This know-how can be used for problem solutions of related topics, such as in the field of material sciences (e.g. concrete deterioration) or in medicine (e.g. DLW – Double Labelled Water, OFM – Open Flow Microperfusion).

Moreover JR-AquaConSol GmbH offers also a laboratory for analysis of selected soil physical parameters, which will be used in numeric modeling. The results of such analytics are a basis for parametrization of numeric models for water flow in soil and unsaturated sediments of top layers above aquifers.

Laboranalytik

LaboranalytikFür definierte Projekterfordernisse ist die Nutzung von Forschungslaboratorien bzw. die Möglichkeit der Analytik im eigenen Haus eine Notwendigkeit zur effizienten Projektabwicklung und Lösung komplexer Fragestellungen.

Zunehmend an Bedeutung zur Charakterisierung und Verfolgung unterirdischer Wasserwege und zur Untersuchung komplexer Wechselwirkungen zwischen unterschiedlichen Komponenten des Wasserkreislaufs gewinnt die Analytik und Interpretation stabiler Isotope des Wassermoleküls. In einem Ringversuch der IAEA (International Atomic Energy Agency ) des Jahres 2011 war das Labor der JOANNEUM RESEARCH weltweit das Beste aus etwa 250 teilnehmenden Labors in der Bestimmung der 18O–Konzentration (18O ein stabiles Sauerstoffisotop) in den Standards.

Das bestehende analytische Know-how in der JR-AquaConSol GmbH weist ein umfangreiches Portfolio maßgeschneiderter analytischer Methoden zur Untersuchung von hydrogeologischen Problemstellungen, der biogeochemischen Prozessforschung und zur Charakterisierung von Wasser-Gesteins-Wechselwirkungen (z.B. Versinterungen, Scalings) auf. Es kann für Problemstellungen auch in angrenzenden Themenfeldern wie im Bereich der Materialwissenschaften (z.B. Betonschädigungen) und in der Medizin (DLW – Double Labelled Water, OFM – Offene Mikroperfusion) eingesetzt werden.

Darüber hinaus bietet die JR-AquaConSol GmbH auch ein Labor zur Analyse ausgewählter bodenphysikalischer Parameter, welche wiederum in der numerischen Modellierung Einsatz finden. Die Ergebnisse dieser Analytik bilden eine der Grundlagen für die Parametrisierung der numerischen Modelle zur Berechnung der Wasserbewegung im Boden und in den wasserungesättigten Sedimenten der Deckschichten über den Grundwasserleitern.